HIT

HOUSE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY - HIT

CONTEXT:
In the framework of A*MIDEX objective of strengthening the socio-economic impact of academic research, the House of Innovation and Technology project aims to structure a cluster on the Aix-Marseille site, around the high-growth area of microelectronics and digital security. The goal is to increase the regional scientific and technological leadership in these fields.
The Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (PACA) region, which has strong competences in wireless communication and digital security, has managed to gather the main global actors in microelectronics. Among these businesses of all sizes, whose activities cover the entire value chain from silicon to digital uses, STMicroelectronics, GEMALTO and INSIDE SECURE are ranked amongst the world’s most advanced companies in networked secured devices and niche markets.


THE HIT PROJECT (HOUSE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY)

THE PARTNERS
The partners involved in the project and who support its implementation are :
- Academic actors : AMU - CNRS - the Center of Microelectronics in Provence of the Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne,
- Industrial actors : STMicroelectronics - GEMALTO - INSIDE SECURE,
- Coordination structures : the "Secured Communicating Solutions" (SCS) Cluster – the Components and Integrated Secure Systems Research Association (ARCSIS) – the French National Radio Frequency Identification Center (CNRFID).
The HIT project also gets full support from regional authorities, in particular the Town council of Rousset and the "Communauté du Pays d’Aix" which have been involved from the outset of the project.

THREE AXES
The three axes of the House of Innovation and Technology project are:
- Real estate aspect : offering researchers and industrials an open and shared place in Rousset ; and bringing together ARCSIS, the SCS Cluster, the French National RFID Center and the shared platform "Characterization",
- R&D projects funding : developing public/private collaborative research projects connected to the growing sectors of wireless communication, smart objects and e-services and networks security technologies,
- Encouragement to use shared scientific equipment : facilitating access to the scientific equipment located in the shared platforms of PACA Microelectronics Integrated Centre.

PROCEDURE OF PROJECTS’ EMERGENCE
The emergence of R&D projects will be carried out with the help of the SCS Cluster, in order to ensure the participation of companies – large groups, SMEs and VSEs – linked to this economic sector, and will be implemented through thematic workshops which are backed by the three SCS Cluster’s Smart Specialization Areas (SSA): « Contactless », « Networks, M2M & Mobile Services » and « Security & Digital Identities ».

It is up to laboratories and researchers:

  • either to position themselves on matters listed in the three SSAs,
  • or to promote related research topics that might complete them, and to estimate the needed human resources.

These projects will be selected on the basis of a call for proposals by a joint selection committee composed of researchers and socio-economic experts working in the private and in the public sector. The main criteria for the selection will be (i) the technological content including the research and innovation ambition of the project, (ii) the strategic aspects of the project, (iii) the quality of the project’s structuration and coordination, (iiii) its societal impact, and finally (iiiii) the potential of the project in terms of transfer and socio-economic results.

This new instrument dedicated to innovative research in microelectronics and digital security will act as a powerful leverage to mobilize and attract external research funding from the private sector.

A*MIDEX funding for the HIT R&D projects will be 1.8 M€/ year for 2 types of projects :

- Medium or long-term projects
Main target : projects between academic laboratories and large industrial groups or mid-cap companies, to cover the “grey area” between projects financed by the National Research Agency (ANR) and those financed by the Unique Interministerial Fund (FUI)
Average funding: 3 to 5 M€ / project. Funding from A*MIDEX : 1.5 M€/ year

- One-time projects
Main target : projects between academic laboratories and micro to small enterprises, or to overcome some technological barriers
Average funding: 100 to 200 K€ / project. Funding from A*MIDEX : 300 K€ / year

Eligible costs : operating and travel costs, PhD and post-doc recruitment, prototyping costs, access and use of Aix-Marseille shared research facilities.

Useful links:

Pôle SCS: www.pole-scs.org

SSA « Contactless » - Technologies of wireless communications - White paper available here

SSA  « Networks, M2M & Mobile Services » - Technologies of communicating smart objects - White paper available here

SSA  « Security & Digital Identities » - Technologies related to the security of e-services and networks - White paper available here

For more information:

Mr. Ahmed CHARAI, in charge of the HIT project : ahmed.charai@univ-amu.fr
Ms. Sophie REGNIER, administrative contact : Tel 04 91 28 86 74 sophie.habai@univ-amu.fr

HIT

Maison de l’Innovation et de la Technologie - House of Innovation and Technology - HIT

CONTEXTE :

Dans le cadre de la stratégie d’A*MIDEX de renforcement de l’impact socio-économique de la recherche académique, le projet de Maison de l’Innovation et de la Technologie (HIT) vise à structurer sur le site d'Aix-Marseille un cluster autour du domaine porteur de la microélectronique et de la sécurité numérique. L’objectif est d'accroître le leadership régional scientifique et technologique dans ces domaines.

La région Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur, forte de compétences reconnues dans ces domaines, a su attirer les principaux acteurs mondiaux de la microélectronique. Parmi ces entreprises de toutes tailles, dont les activités ont la particularité de couvrir toute la chaîne de valeurs, du silicium aux usages, figurent des industriels leaders mondiaux sur les objets sécurisés et sur les marchés de niche comme STMicroelectronics, GEMALTO et INSIDE SECURE.

LE PROJET HIT (HOUSE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY)

LES PARTENAIRES

Les partenaires qui portent le projet HIT et contribuent à sa réalisation sont :
- des acteurs académiques : AMU - CNRS - Centre Microélectronique de Provence de l'Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne,
- des acteurs industriels : STMicroelectronics - GEMALTO - INSIDE SECURE,
- des structures coordinatrices : Le Pôle de Compétitivité Solutions Communicantes Sécurisées (SCS) - Association pour la Recherche sur les Composants et les Systèmes Intégrés Sécurisés (ARCSIS) – Centre National de Référence de l'Identification par Radio-Fréquence (CNRFID).
La HIT bénéficie également du soutien de plusieurs collectivités territoriales, notamment la Commune de Rousset et la Communauté du Pays d’Aix présentes dès l’origine du projet.

TROIX AXES
Les trois axes du projet de Maison de l’Innovation et de la Technologie sont :
- un volet immobilier : Proposer un lieu ouvert et partagé aux chercheurs et aux industriels, sur la Commune de Rousset, et y rassembler ARCSIS, le Pôle SCS, le CNRFID, et la plateforme « Caractérisation »,
- le financement de projets R&D : Développer des projets de recherche collaboratifs public-privé ayant trait aux secteurs porteurs des technologies de communication sans fil, des "Smart Objects" et de la sécurisation des e-services et réseaux,
- l’encouragement à l’utilisation des équipements mutualisés : Faciliter l’accès aux équipements scientifiques des plateformes mutualisées du Centre Intégré de Microélectronique CIM PACA.

PROCÉDURE D'ÉMERGENCE DES PROJETS
L’émergence des projets R&D sera menée en collaboration avec le Pôle SCS, afin de garantir la participation d’entreprises de ce secteur – grands groupes, ETI, PME/PMI et TPE/TPI – dans le cadre d’ateliers de travail thématiques adossés à ses trois « Smart Spécialisation Areas » : « Sans Contact », « Réseaux, Machine to Machine & Services Mobiles » et « Sécurité & Identités Numériques ».

Il revient aux unités de recherche et aux chercheurs :
- soit de se positionner sur les briques identifiées dans les trois SSA,
- soit de mettre en avant des sujets de recherche complémentaires pouvant s'y rattacher, en déterminant les moyens humains à y consacrer.

Les projets seront sélectionnés suite à un appel à projets, par une commission d’évaluation mixte composée de chercheurs et d’experts socio-économiques provenant des secteurs public et privé. Les critères de sélection principaux seront (i) le contenu technologique dont l’ambition du projet en termes de recherche et d’innovation, (ii) les aspects stratégiques du projet, (iii) la qualité de la construction du projet et de sa coordination, (iiii) la portée sociétale et enfin (iiiii) le potentiel du projet en termes de valorisation et de retombées économiques prévues.

Cet instrument dédié à la recherche innovante en lien avec la microélectronique et la sécurité numérique sera un levier puissant pour mobiliser et drainer des financements externes en provenance du secteur privé.

Le financement par A*MIDEX des projets R&D "HIT" est de 1,8 M€/an et concerne deux types de projets:
- Projets à moyen/long terme
Cible : principalement  des projets entre laboratoires académiques et grands groupes/ETI, visant à couvrir la “zone grise” entre  ANR et  FUI
Financement moyen de 3 à 5 M€  par projet dont 1,5 M€ / an d’A*MIDEX
- Projets ponctuels
Cible : principalement  des projets entre laboratoires académiques et PME/TPE ou pour débloquer des “verrous technologiques”
Financement moyen de 100 à 200 K€ par projet dont 300 K€ / an d’A*MIDEX

Coûts éligibles: coûts de fonctionnement et frais de déplacement, financement de doctorants ou de post-doctorants, frais de prototypage, accès à des équipements mutualisés de recherche d’Aix-Marseille.

Liens utiles :

Pôle SCS : www.pole-scs.org

SSA  « Sans Contact » - Technologies de communication sans fil - Livre blanc consultable ici

SSA  « Réseaux, M2M & Services Mobiles » - Technologies des objets communicants intelligents - Livre blanc consultable ici

SSA  « Sécurité & Identités Numériques » - Technologies de sécurisation des e-services et réseaux - Livre blanc consultable ici

Contacts :

M Ahmed CHARAI, Chargé de mission HIT : ahmed.charai@univ-amu.fr

Mme Sophie REGNIER, Responsable administrative du projet : Tel 04 91 28 86 74 sophie.habai@univ-amu.fr